By a vote of the AOCS membership, Walter O. Lundberg has been granted honorary membership status in the Society.

Lundberg, who retired as director of The Hormel Institute in 1974, was president of AOCS in 1963-64 and had served as editor of *Lipids* for a number of years. In addition, he served AOCS as a member-at-large, secretary, and vice-president. He was a member of the Foundation Board of Directors, *Lipids* Editorial Advisory Board, and the Education Committee. He served as chairman of the Membership Committee, Nominating and Election Committee, Award Committee, and FFA Subcommittee. Upon his retirement in 1974, he was voted to emeritus membership status.

Most of his professional life had been dedicated to the development of The Hormel Institute. His research interests in the chemistry, biochemistry, nutrition, metabolism, and processing of fats, oils, and other lipids had given The Hormel Institute its direction and had helped to make it a strong division of the University of Minnesota.

Active in numerous professional associations, Lundberg also was the recipient of a number of awards, including the Glycerine Producers Award, The Normann Medal of the German Society for Fat Research, the Chevreul Medal of the French Association of Lipid Scientists, and the Marques de Acapulco Medal of the Spanish Institute of Fat Research.

Honorary membership in AOCS is considered for persons whose achievements in science entitle them to special recognition or who have rendered unusually important service to the Society or the profession. After the Governing Board approves a petition signed by at least 50 active members, a two-thirds majority of the active membership who vote on the question is required.



presented

Award of Merit

Lundberg granted honorary status

Lois S. Crauer, manager, chemical research, De Laval Separator Co., Poughkeepsie, N.Y., and H.G. Salomon, president, L.A. Salomon and Brother, Inc., Port Washington, N.Y., were presented the Award of Merit at the 66th Annual Spring Meeting in Dallas.

Crauer has served AOCS as secretary and member-atlarge and was cochairman of the 1966 short course. In addition, she was a member of the Communications, Scopes, Merit Award, Education, National Meetings Planning, Society Improvement, Oil Retention and Moisture, and Volatile Matter in Filter Cake Committees.

The author of a number of papers on continuous processing, she is a member of the American Chemical Society and the Institute of Food Technologists.

Salomon has served as AOCS Foundation president and treasurer. He has been a member of a number of Society committees, including: Ways and Means, National Meetings Planning, Advertising, and Membership. He was general chairman of the 1971 Atlantic City Meeting, chairman of the 1968 New York Convention Fund Raising Committee, and chairman of the 1960 New York Convention Exhibits. In addition, he is very active in the Northeast Section, having served as president, vice-president, and secretary.

A graduate of the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, he is a member of the Chemists' Club of New York and the Waterworks Association. He is a trustee of the Port Washington Public Library.

The Award of Merit program was established in 1967 to recognize current achievements, without regard to age of the nominee, and to serve as a stimulus for those working in various AOCS activities. Types of service to be considered include: active service to AOCS committee work; marked leadership in technical, administrative, or special committee or society activities; outstanding activity or service that has particularly advanced the Society's prestige, standing, or interest; and any distinguished service to the Society not otherwise specifically provided for.